IEEE International Conference on Computer Communications
17–20 May 2023 // New York area // USA

IEEE International Workshop on the Security, Privacy, and Digital Forensics of Mobile Systems and Networks (MobiSec 2023)

The Seventh IEEE International Workshop on the Security, Privacy, and Digital Forensics of Mobile Systems and Networks (MobiSec 2023)

as part of the


May 17-20, 2023

EDAS submission Link:


Call for Paper (CFP)

To many people, smartphones have been an indispensable part of daily life and work. With personal financial and medical information and job related data being processed on smartphones and related mobile systems and networks, it is critically important that the development and advancement of secure mobile operating systems, secure mobile applications, secure smartphone devices and cellular networks keep up with the ever-growing smartphone usage. For this reason, this research area has been a very important sector in the network and telecommunication industry and a focus of funded research projects in many research institutes.

The scope of MobiSec 2023 encompasses the security, privacy, and digital forensics of mobile systems and networks, including but not limited to Android, iOS and Windows Mobile operating systems, smartphones and applications for these platforms and devices, as well as cellular networks. Topics of interest include (but are not limited to) the following subject categories:

  • Android, iOS, and Windows Mobile security and privacy
  • Digital forensics on mobile operating systems, applications and smartphones
  • Secure mobile application development
  • Smartphone device/hardware security
  • Mobile application security and digital forensics
  • Mobile user authentication and authorization
  • Multi-factor mobile authentication
  • Mobile user privacy
  • Mobile vulnerability detection and remediation
  • Intrusion detection and recovery on mobile OS, applications, smartphones, and cellular networks
  • Social network security and privacy
  • Secure cloud for mobile environment
  • Secure mobile edge and edge computing
  • Mobile device management
  • 4G and 5G security


Journal Special Issues TBA


Organizing Committee

Honorary General Chair

  • Dr. Wenjing Lou, Virginia Tech, USA

Workshop Organizers and Technical Program Chairs

  • Dr. Lei Chen (Point of Contact), Georgia Southern University, USA
  • Dr. Wenjia Li, New York Institute of Technology, USA
  • Dr. Danda Rawat, Howard University, USA
  • Dr. Yun Lin, Harbin Engineering University, China

Technical Program Vice Chairs

  • Dr. Yiming Ji, Georgia Southern University, USA
  • Dr. Mauro Conti, The University of Padua, Italy
  • Dr. Feng Zeng, Central South University, China
  • Dr. Peter Mueller, IBM Zurich Research Laboratory, Switzerland
  • Dr. Yupeng Hu, Hunan University, China

Publication Chairs:

  • Dr. Narasimha Shashidhar, Sam Houston State University, USA
  • Dr. Umit Karabiyik, Purdue University, USA
  • Dr. Yuansheng Luo, Changsha University of Science & Technology​, China

Publicity Chairs:

  • Dr. Weitian Tong, Georgia Southern University, USA
  • Dr. Nhien-An Le Khac, University College Dublin, Ireland
  • Dr. Yejun He, Shenzhen University, China
  • Dr. Yehua Wei, Hunan Normal University

Web Chair:

  • Dr. Atef Mohamed, Georgia Southern University, USA
  • Dr. Weinan Gao, Northeastern University, China
  • Dr. Di Zhang, University of Jyväskylä, Finland


Important Dates

Submission Deadline: December 20, 2022

Notification of Acceptance: February 6, 2023

Camera Ready: March 6, 2023

Workshop: May 20, 2023


Technical Program Committee (TPC)

  • Dr. Nirwan Ansari, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
  • Dr. Konstantin (Kosta) Beznosov, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Dr. Md Zakirul Alam Bhuiyan, Fordham University, USA
  • Dr. Marina Blanton, University of Notre Dame, USA
  • Dr. Nikita Borisov, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Dr. Xiaojiang Du, Temple University, USA
  • Dr. Venkatesan Ekambaram, Qualcomm, USA
  • Dr. Michael Franz, University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Dr. Xingwen Fu, University of Massachusetts Lowell, USA
  • Dr. Feng Hong, Ocean University of China, China
  • Dr. Yupeng Hu, Hunan University, China
  • Dr. Shweta Jain, City University of New York, USA
  • Dr. Brent Kang, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Korea
  • Dr. Vimal Kumar, The University of Waikato, New Zealand
  • Dr. Andrea Lanzi, University of Milan, Italy
  • Dr. Jaime Lloret Mauri, Polytechnic University of Valencia, Spain
  • Dr. Joel Rodrigues, University of Beira Interior, Portugal
  • Dr. Sachin Shetty, Tennessee State University, USA
  • Dr. Houbing Song, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, USA
  • Dr. Chiu C. Tan, Temple University, USA
  • Dr. Mohit Tiwari, University of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Dr. Xiwei Wang, Northeastern Illinois University, USA
  • Dr. Shucheng Yu, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
  • Dr. Guyue Li, Southeast University, China

Gold Patrons

Bronze Patrons

Student Travel Grant Sponsors

Local Organizer