IEEE International Conference on Computer Communications
17–20 May 2023 // New York area // USA



Sponsored by the IEEE Communications Society




For contributions to the design, deployment, and application of practical Internet-scale global computing platforms

Ian Foster and Carl Kesselman recognized that the Internet of the 1990s had the potential to expand to enable an entirely new type of collaborative work. Their pioneering achievements led to the first global computing grid and spurred the development of scale grid deployments that allowed scientists around the world to make major advances in science and engineering. Their work has made measurable impacts on parallel computing software, cyberinfrastructure deployment, and scientific community building. The widespread deployment of hosted web services and cloud computing would not have been possible if not for the work of Foster and Kesselman who demonstrated that these types of distributed computing environments could be both practical and impactful.

An IEEE Fellow, Foster is a senior scientist and distinguished fellow, and director of the Data Science and Learning Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois, USA; and the Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor of Computer Science, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois, USA.

An IEEE Sr. Member, Kesselman is the William H. Keck Professor of Engineering in the  Viterbi School of Engineering, where he is a professor in the Daniel J. Epstein Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, and fellow of the Information Sciences Institute, where he also directs the Informatics Systems Research Division in the Information Sciences, University of Southern California, Los Angles, California, USA.


Sponsored by NEC Corporation


For contributions to the design of cloud and computer network services

Ion Stoica has made seminal contributions to computer networking and cloud computing, in four core areas: internet QoS (his development of SCORE and HFSC); distributed hash tables (i3 and Chord); real-time big data processing (Spark and BDAS), and large case machine learning systems (Ray). In all four areas, he provided breakthroughs that have been widely adopted in the communications and computer industries. He co-founded companies that have had a major impact on today’s technology including: Conviva, online video services); Databricks and Anyscale, both commercialize Apache Spark and Ray open-source framework developed inside UC Berkeley labs that were co-led by Stoica.An IEEE Senior Member, Stoica is a Professor in the Computer Science Division, Xu Bao Chancellor Chair at University of California, Berkeley, California, USA.

Class of 2023 IEEE Fellows

Kemal Akkaya
for contributions to routing and topology management in wireless ad hoc and sensor networks
Bhaskar Krishnamachari
for contributions to algorithms and protocols for wireless networks
Houbing Song
for contributions to big data analytics and integration of AI with Internet of Things
Jianping Wang
for contributions to resiliency of complex systems
Tilman Wolf
for contributions to design of network processors and in-network processing services
Shucheng Yu
for contributions to information and network security
Gang Zhou
for contributions to sensor networks and low-power wireless networks


The IEEE INFOCOM Achievement Award is the highest honor that can be bestowed on a researcher in the INFOCOM community.  The recipient should have a body of work that has had significant impacts on the networking community in general, and INFOCOM in particular.


For contributions in design, implementation, and experimental demonstrations of wireless networks

Edward Knightly has made multiple pioneering contributions to wireless networking and is known for bringing research innovations all the way to in-the-field demonstrations.  In 2003, Edward founded the Technology For All Wireless project as a way to bring advanced wireless technology to underserved and under resourced communities. The project yielded award-winning designs and measurement studies, used diverse and shared spectrum spanning an order of magnitude in frequency, impacted Wi-Fi standards, was featured in President Obama’s 2016 Advanced Wireless Research Initiative announcement, and today still serves thousands of Houston’s poorest residents. His contributions to multi-user networking including demonstrating the first multi-user MIMO WLAN, a capability that is now standardized in Wi-Fi since Wi-Fi 5, and more recently, the first uplink multi-user 60 GHz WLAN. He received the Dynamic Spectrum Alliance Award for Research on New Opportunities for Dynamic Spectrum Access. He won eight best paper awards and has given over thirty plenary keynote presentations, both including IEEE INFOCOM.

An IEEE Fellow, Knightly is the Sheafor–Lindsay Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Rice University, Houston, Texas, USA.

2023 INFOCOM Test of Time Paper Awards

The IEEE INFOCOM Test of Time Paper Award recognizes papers published between 10 to 12 years ago (a three-year window) in the INFOCOM proceedings that have been most cited and widely recognized to have a significant impact on the research community.  For 2023, papers published in 2011–2013 INFOCOM proceedings are eligible.

For 2023, the award committee has selected the following papers for this award:

Yi Shi, Liguang Xie, Y. Thomas Hou, Hanif D. Sherali,
On renewable sensor networks with wireless energy transfer"
in Proc. of IEEE INFOCOM 2011.

Minghong Lin, Adam Wierman, Lachlan L. H. Andrew, Eno Thereska,
Dynamic right-sizing for power-proportional data centers
in Proc. of IEEE INFOCOM 2011.

2023 IEEE INFOCOM Best Paper Awards

Fei Wang, Ethan Hugh and Baochun Li (University of Toronto, Canada)
More than Enough is Too Much: Adaptive Defenses against Gradient Leakage in Production Federated Learning

Robert MacDavid, Xiaoqi Chen and Jennifer Rexford (Princeton University, USA)
Scalable Real-Time Bandwidth Fairness in Switches

2023 IEEE INFOCOM Best Demo Award

Zhanchen Dong, Jiangong Chen, and Bin Li (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
Collaborative Mixed-Reality-Based Firefighter Training

2023 IEEE INFOCOM Best Poster Award

Yuxia Zhan and Yan Meng (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China); Lu Zhou (Xidian University, China); Haojin Zhu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
Vetting Privacy Policies in VR: A Data Minimization Principle Perspective


Gold Patrons

Bronze Patrons

Student Travel Grant Sponsors

Local Organizer